Office of Cancer Health Equity & Community Engagement

Meet Our Team

Hayley S. Thompson, Ph.D.

Hayley S. Thompson, Ph.D.

Faculty Director, OCHECE

Thompsoh@karmanos.org

Carie Francis, MPA

Carie Francis, MPA

Manager, Campus-Community Partnerships

Francisc@karmanos.org

Emell Derra Adolphus

Emell Derra Adolphus

Comms & Marketing, OCHECE

Emell@youvegotmell.com

Forrest Hosea

Forrest Hosea

Research Assistant, OCHECE

Hoseaf@karmanos.org

Anne Katz, Ph.D.

Anne Katz, Ph.D.

Research Associate, OCHECE

Katza@karmanos.org

Knoll Larkin, MPH

Knoll Larkin, MPH

Director, OCHECE

Larkink@karmanos.org

Shoma Pal, MPH, MBA

Shoma Pal, MPH, MBA

Manager, Strategic Planning and Development

Pals@karmanos.org

Brittany Dowe, MPH

Brittany Dowe, MPH

Research Assistant, OCHECE

Doweb@karmanos.org

Kris Johns, MHSA

Kris Johns, MHSA

Research Assistant, OCHECE

Johnsk@karmanos.org

Lezina Topciu

Lezina Topciu

Administrator, OCHECE

Topciul@karmanos.org

Voncile Brown-Miller

Voncile Brown-Miller

Manager, Community Outreach

Millerv@karmanos.org

Sheena Cresswell, MPH

Sheena Cresswell, MPH

Research Associate, OCHECE

Cresswes@karmanos.org

 Truman Hudson, Jr., Ph.D.

Truman Hudson, Jr., Ph.D.

Research Assistant, OCHECE

Thudsonjr@wayne.edu

Asha Freeman, MPH

Asha Freeman, MPH

Research Assistant, OCHECE

Freemana@karmanos.org

Want to Make A Difference?

Join one of the Office of Cancer Health Equity and Community Engagement’s (OCHECE) Cancer Action Councils (CACs) to share your cancer experience and help shape community resources and programs for cancer survivors, caregivers and advocates. 

Our Blog

The Latest News

Cancer Action Councils Thrive After COVID-19

Cancer Action Councils Thrive After COVID-19

Our Cancer Action Councils continue to meet without missing a beat even during this pandemic. They have dug in their heels, bringing strengthen and purpose to serve their community. March, April, May, June, July and now August groups have met to review their research...

Research & Advocacy for Young Survivors

Research & Advocacy for Young Survivors

If interested in participating in Research and Advocacy for Young Survivors volunteer research study, please contact Anne Katz, Ph.D., at katza@karmanos.org or call 313-576-8290. [embeddoc...

To improve health of Black Americans, don’t forget this group

To improve health of Black Americans, don’t forget this group

By Hayley Thompson, Ph.D. This Op-Ed was originally published in the Detroit Free Press. Summer is here, and it’s Pride season, a celebration of LGBTQ inclusion and self-affirmation. Detroit is home to Hotter Than July, the world’s second oldest Black LGBTQ Pride...

Our Community Partners